Recently, The Assam Cabinet had taken some crucial decisions, especially related to the Economically Weaker Section (EWS). Recently, The Assam Cabinet extended the scope of the Economically weaker section (EWS) quota. Now, Now persons who have up to 30 bighas of agricultural land in rural area; up to 2 bighas of land in urban area and up to 8,640 square feet land in municipal area will be eligible to avail EWS certificate if their gross annual income is below Rs 8 lakh. EWS certificate is an income and asset certificate issued to the citizens belonging to the economically weaker sections of society. According to existing rules, persons who are not covered under the scheme of reservation for SCs, STs and OBCs and whose family has a gross annual income below Rs 8 lakh are identified as EWS. Persons whose family owns any of the following assets are excluded from being identified as EWS, irrespective of the family income – more than 15 bighas of agricultural land in rural areas; more than 1 bigha of land in urban area; and more than 4,320 square feet land in municipal area.

There is 10 per reservation for the Economically Weaker Section in government jobs, educational institutions etc. However, due to some strict criteria, many eligible people, especially from Assam, face difficulties in getting EWS certificates. Assam Cabinet Minister Jayanta Malla Barua said, “To remove hurdles for EWS candidates in getting government jobs and admissions, the criterion of built-up area of house Municipal Corporation/Municipal Board/Town Committee areas enhanced by almost double from current norms (1,000 sq ft to 2,000 sq. ft & above). This has been done as the aforementioned areas are basically semi-urban in nature where the residents extend the main living area for household purposes like separate kitchen/separate study room for their children, etc”.

Please follow and like us:
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial