Assam and Meghalaya will form three regional committees. The Cabinet ministers had ordered from both states to resolve boundary disputes in six remaining areas of differences, Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

During the 9th meeting, the decision was taken between Himanta Biswa Sarma and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma as part of the second phase of border talks.
On March 29, the two northeastern states had signed a memorandum of understanding for ending the five-decade-old border dispute in six of the 12 disputed areas. Resolving the border issue with Assam is a priority of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government, state’s deputy CM Prestone Tynsong said.

The six areas that were taken up for final settlement in March include Tarabari (4.69 sq km), Gizang (13.53 sq km), Hahim (3.51 sq km), Boklapara (1.57 sq km), Khanapara-Pilangkata (2.29 sq km) and Ratacherra (11.20 sq km).
The remaining six areas include villages in disputed blocks 1 and 2 transferred from the then United Khasi and Jaintia district to Assam’s Karbi Anglong district for administrative convenience in the 50s.
In 1972, Meghalaya was carved out of Assam and both states share a 733-km boundary.

Please follow and like us:
About Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial